Miss Manners and Registries

Easy access to the internet can be a blessing or a curse.

I recently googled wording for a registry/wishing well insert and was met with a lot of information. Some sites were very helpful – providing a lot of (pretty awful) poems to use, or some nice wording.

Unfortunately I also clicked through to a forum with a lot of opinions.

I’ve never had a problem with including a registry option in an invitation.

A registry list is potentially lots of fun for the happy couple, and the practical side of me thinks it is a blessing for the invited guests. No worrying about finding something that no one else will buy, or trying to second guess the bride’s taste in linen.
Always provided there is a good range of gifts available of course.

The etiquette of asking for money or vouchers always seemed a little more tricky to me.

Etiquette at the Ball for the Victorians of Lo...

Etiquette at the Ball for the Victorians of London Society (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Even though I am very much of the ‘My wedding, my way‘ school of thought, I don’t want to upset people more than I have to.

When I came across a forum pretty much attacking the poor person who asked for assistance I was a little offended.
A large number of people had replied to a bride’s request for assistance on a wishing well/registry card wording with a tirade of opinions.
Yes, everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and each of the opinions on the site was equally valid.  I guess I just didn’t agree with the black and white view of some of them.

Apparently (according to the responders) even mentioning the word gift in an invitation pack is appalling rude.
You should never mention gifts, or include registry details in the invitations.
You should just tell your parents and the bridal party and word will get around.

While I might have agreed with this about 30 years ago, it seems out-dated now.

I say make life easier on yourself.
99%* of wedding guests are going to buy you a gift – at least 90%* of those are going to be very grateful for your suggestions. And in the end, they can always ignore the registry!

Oh, and to any of my future wedding guests – I really hope you aren’t offended.

statistics

statistics (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

* Statistics taken from the WTE Institute of On the Spot Statistics creation. 
About jamayel

I am a 30-something woman living in the Adelaide Hills writing about my life. Not all that interesting probably. But there is a little travel, a little shopping and a lot of food.
This entry was posted in Engagement, Wedding and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

