Engagement #1

I have been eating leftovers all day from last night’s engagement party.

Typing might help stop me putting more food in my mouth.

My boy worked really hard during the week preparing the outside of the house and the deck area to host the party. (Of course we ended up spending the majority of the time inside the house).

I spent a few nights cooking and most of yesterday cleaning the inside of the house and setting up the rest of the party.

People starting trickling in from about 5pm and by 7 the house was full, the food and drink were flowing and a good time was being had by if not all, then at least by the people around me.

It was a cold cold day and night but inside the house – with lots of people and the oven running hot – was toasty warm.

The usual suspects

and again

The amazing cupcake bouquet

We had Brazilian cocktails thanks to Mr M and his assistant Mr Z.
We had sushi thanks the lovely Mrs J from over the road.
We had chocolate mousse thanks to Mrs J (which we left in the fridge and tasted this morning).
We had Chocolate Chip cookies and cookie slice thanks to Mrs N.

We had chicken pies, mini pizzas, a cupcake bouquet, cupcakes and chocolate mousse cakes thanks the wonderful Mrs L.

The cake ducks

Me and my boy

Face full of cake

My ducks

Music was provided by iTunes (his collection, my playlist) and the impromptu band consisting of my talented boy, the amazing Mr P and the wonderful Mr R. Guests included Miss N and Mr C.

Most people had dispersed by 11-ish and the stragglers pretty much left after the infamous sparkler-lino incident.

The sparkler lino incident

I need to especially thank Miss L, Miss J and Miss N for their contributions to the dessert treasure trove and the enjoyment of the night.

I hope everyone had a good time. I certainly did.

About jamayel

I am a 30-something woman living in the Adelaide Hills writing about my life. Not all that interesting probably. But there is a little travel, a little shopping and a lot of food.
This entry was posted in Engagement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

