Bridal Magazines

I managed to survive several months of being engaged without purchasing a bridal magazine.

Admittedly I did spend a rather large amount of time online looking at wedding sites and pinterest to make up for it. (Not sure how I would have organised a wedding from interstate without the internet! Guess I would have bought a lot of bridal magazines!)

I was just never able to justify spending $15 on a magazine of pretty pictures that I didn’t really need. Very pretty though. Maybe I just couldn’t decide which one to choose.

Happily, when I met the wedding coordinator at our venue she provided me with 3 magazines!
* Barossa Bride Vol 3 No 6
* Barossa Bride Vol 4 No 7
* The Brides DiaryAdelaide, South Australia

I guess it helps that the venue is featured in each one.

Since they were free I was able to indulge as much as I liked with no guilt! Result.

When we went dress shopping a few days later I scored another freebie.
* Brides of Adelaide Vol 2 No 4

Yes, they are mostly just big catalogues, yes, they are not neccessary in life, and yes,
on our way home I bought another 2 magazines.
* My Wedding – Autumn 2012 – Spring 2012
* Modern Wedding DIY – 2nd Edition

The interesting thing is that the adds (so, 75% of the magazines) are the same in each magazine.
Is there really a market for 6 different Adelaide bridal magazines with 10 pages of difference? – well, obviously there is, but wow!

My other question is about all the ‘real wedding’ stories.
How do the couples pick which book they want to be in?
Are there varying levels of status?

Do the other brides look down on you if you chose the wrong magazine?
Do the brides apply to every magazine there is just hoping for a feature in any of them?
Is it all about who you know, or do you have to bribe your way in?

Just how corrupt is the industry anyway?

Ah, the drama!

A bride in an elaborate wedding dress from 1929.

A bride in an elaborate wedding dress from 1929. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About jamayel

I am a 30-something woman living in the Adelaide Hills writing about my life. Not all that interesting probably. But there is a little travel, a little shopping and a lot of food.
This entry was posted in Other Pretty Stuff, Wedding and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

